Mission and History

The Green Seminary Initiative (GSI) is premised on two convictions: The first is that the religious community has a unique and significant calling to turn back human-caused environmental destruction and to participate in bringing all of creation into health and wholeness. The second conviction is that theological schools should provide clergy and religious leaders with the tools necessary for them to lead their congregations, communities and organizations in meeting their unique call to protect and restore creation.

GSI fosters efforts by theological schools and seminaries to incorporate care for creation into the identity and mission of the institution, such that it becomes a foundational part of the academic program and an integral part of the ethos of the whole institution.

We are very grateful for the past support of the Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago and the Kalliopeia Foundation, and for the ongoing assistance of FORE (the Forum on Religion and Ecology) and the Luce Foundation.

The Green Seminary Initiative is co-hosted by GreenFaith and Drew Theological School.

Some of our history, as told by the Association of Theological Schools, is available here.

Our story of our beginning, as told by co-founders Laurel Kearns and Beth Norcross, is available here.

What we do

GSI encourages schools of theology to be participants in, and keepers of, God’s creation in all its human, biological, geological, and ecological manifestations. To that end, the Green Seminary Initiative is dedicated to building a nationwide coalition of theological schools that infuse care of the earth into all aspects of theological education. This effort requires the collective energies of faculty, staff and students working in all aspects of community life. Specifically, the initiative encourages the education of seminarians and the “greening” of seminaries in five broad areas:

To further these efforts, the GSI:

  • Provides strategies and guidance for theological school faculty, staff, and students who wish to “green” their schools.
  • Shares educational materials, course syllabi, and pedagogical approaches that prepare future religious leaders for eco-justice leadership in the congregations and communities that they will serve.
  • Gathers and houses comprehensive "Seminary Green Profiles" where theological schools report on greening activities within their communities so that other schools might be inspired and educated.
  • Provides specific resources on incorporating earth care into each of the five key areas.
  • Connects theological schools, faculty, and seminarians who are interested in greening their institutions so they can share ideas and strategies.
  • Manages the Seminary Environmental Certification Program, a world-class certification process that began in 2016.


abby mohaupt

abby mohaupt began as a Co-Director of Green Seminary Initiative in the fall of 2016 (alongside Sarah Macias), and she became the Director in late 2018. She is currently a PhD student in Religion, Culture, and Ecology at Drew Theological School. She previously earned a Master of Divinity and Master of Theology at McCormick Theological Seminary in Chicago, IL, with emphases in environmental ministry and eco-feminist theology. Before returning to the academy, abby served farm workers and families in Northern California for four years, where she led cultural competency, volunteer, environmental education, and children's programs. She continues to serve the church on the board of the Presbyterian Hunger Program and Fossil Free PCUSA. She divides her time between Northern California and New Jersey. abby is an ordained minister in the Presbyterian Church (USA).

Contact abby at director@greenseminaries.org.


Above: Beth Norcross, Tim Van Meter, Laurel Kearns and Faith Harris, members of our Executive and Advisory Committees

Executive Committee

Beth Norcross
Center for Nature Spirituality
Laurel Kearns
Drew Theological School
Tim Van Meter
Methodist Theological School in Ohio
Fletcher Harper

Advisory Committee

Jennifer Ayres
Candler School of Theology, Emory University
Philip Clayton
Claremont School of Theology
Betty Holley
Payne Theological Seminary
Faith Harris
Samuel DeWitt Proctor School of Theology
Ted Hiebert
McCormick Theological Seminary
Felicity Kelcourse
Christian Theological Seminary
Carla Pryne
Episcopal Priest, Seattle, WA
Larry Rasmussen
Emeritus, Union Theological Seminary
Mary Evelyn Tucker
Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies/Yale Divinity School
Tim Robinson
Brite Divinity School
Sallie McFague
David Rhoads

Partner Schools

There are two ways for an institution to be in partnership with the Green Seminary Initiative.

A. Thirteen schools are part of the Seminary Environmental Certification Program.

Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Boston University School of Theology

Christian Theological Seminary

Claremont School of Theology

Columbia Theological Seminary

Drew Theological School

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary

Methodist Theological School in Ohio

Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary

The Samuel DeWitt Proctor School of Theology

Trinity Lutheran Seminary

Universidad Biblica Latinamericana

Union Presbyterian Seminary, Charlotte

B. More than 50 schools have registered seminary reports with the Green Seminary Initiative. More schools are joining each day and registering seminary profiles with us.

Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary

Bangor Theological Seminary

Baptist Theological Seminary of Richmond

Boston University School of Theology

Brite Divinity School

Catholic Theological Union

Central Baptist Theological Seminary

Chicago Theological Seminary

Christian Theological Seminary

Church Divinity School of the Pacific

Claremont School of Theology

Columbia Theological Seminary

Denver Theological Seminary

Duke Divinity School

Drew Theological Seminary

Eastern Mennonite Seminary

Fuller Theological Seminary

Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary

George W. Truett Theological Seminary

Harvard Divinity School

Hebrew College

Iliff School of Theology

Luther Seminary

Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg

Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia

McCormick Theological Seminary

Meadville Lombard Theological School

Methodist Theological School in Ohio

North Park Theological Seminary

Oblate School of Theology

Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary

Payne Theological Seminary

Perkins School of Theology

Princeton Theological Seminary

Samuel Dewitt Proctor School of Theology at Virginia Union University

St. Paul School of Theology - Oklahoma City

San Francisco Theological Seminary

Santa Clara University

School of Theology and Ministry at Seattle University

School of Theology: University of the South

Seattle University School of Theology and Ministry

Stockholm School of Theology

Trinity Lutheran Seminary

Union Sem. and Presby. School of Christian Edu.

University of Dubuque Theological Seminary

Union Presbyterian Theological Seminary

Union Theological Seminary

Universidad Biblica Latinoamericana

Vancouver School of Theology

Virginia Theological Seminary

Wake Forest Divinity School

Wartburg Theological Seminary

Wesley Theological Seminary

Yale Divinity School

Candler School of Theology